RESOLUTION NO. _____ (N.C.S.)

CANVASS OF NOVEMBER 8, 2016 SALINAS MUNICIPAL ELECTION

WHEREAS, on May 17, 2016, the Salinas City Council adopted Resolution No. 20959 calling for the November 8, 2016 election of Salinas Mayor and City Councilmembers for District 1, District 4, and District 6; and

WHEREAS, said municipal election was held on said date in accordance with law, the votes thereof received and canvassed, and the returns thereof ascertained, determined, and declared in all respects.

NOW, THEREFORE, the City Council declares that the number of votes cast for each candidate is as follows:

OFFICE/NAME OF CANDIDATE	TOTAL VOTES
Mayor	
Amit Pandya	12,067
Joseph Gunter	23,273
District	
Juan Sandoval	921
Scott Davis	1,343
Brian Contreras	1,298
Jose Castañeda	650
District 4	
Gloria De La Rosa	2,898
Virginia H. Mendoza	1,835
District 6	
John "Tony" Villegas	4,011
Jyl Lutes	3,636
Measure L	
Yes	27,454
No	9,557

Joseph Gunter received the highest number of votes cast for Salinas Mayor and is hereby elected to said office until the term ending upon declaration of the results of the November 2018 election.

Scott Davis received the highest number of votes cast for Salinas City Councilmember for District 1 and is hereby elected to said office until the term ending upon declaration of the results of the November 2020 election.

Gloria De La Rosa received the highest number of votes cast for Salinas City Councilmember for

District 4 and is hereby elected to said office until the term ending upon declaration of the results of the November 2020 election.

John "Tony" Villegas received the highest number of votes cast for Salinas City Councilmember for District 6 and is hereby elected to said office until the term ending upon declaration of the results of the November 2020 election.

Measure L received a majority yes vote and therefore passes and is approved by the voters of Salinas.

The "Certificate of the Registrar of Voters for the City of Salinas Election" held on November 8, 2016 is attached as Exhibit A and is incorporated in this resolution by reference.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the City Clerk is hereby authorized to sign and deliver a certificate of election to Joe Gunter, Scott Davis, Gloria De La Rosa, and John (Tony) Villegas. The oath of office shall be administered pursuant to the Constitution of the State of California to the elected officers named herein and pursuant to California Government Code section 36503 and California Election Code section 10263(b).

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the adoption of this resolution declaring the results of the November 8, 2016 election on Measure L shall also result in the adoption of Ordinance 2581 as provided for in Section 4 thereof.

PASSED AND ADOPTED this 6th day of December 2016 by the following vote:

		,	<i>J</i>	 9
AYES:				
NOES:				
ABSTAIN:				
ABSENT:				
		APPROVED:		
		Joe Gunter, M	ayor	
ATTEST:				
Patricia M. Barajas	s, City Clerk			